Thursday, February 25, 2010

Why is Olivia so happy?

According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, human beings have five different types of needs:
· Biological and Physiological Needs such as water and food
· Safety Needs like shelter
· Love Needs such as belonging and acceptance
· Esteem Needs which include respect, rewards and recognition
· Self-Actualization Needs which include personal challenge and advancement
Each need must be met fully before the next need can be attained. For example, all Biological and Physiological Needs – food and water – must be met before an individual will seek out shelter. All Safety Needs like shelter must be met before an individual will seek out love from another person and so on.
The basic human needs exist at work. The Organizational Pyramid illustrates how basic human needs are expressed at work.

1 comment:

  1. Hey Olivia,

    This is a great post about Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs. As a volunteer coordinator, I have found that recognition of volunteers is the best way to encourage our volunteers along with the best way to have repeat volunteers. I particularly enjoy the full crystal piece with movement, and the awesome Chocolate! I look forward to the shirts you are doing for us here at Curamericas Global, Inc.

    Andrew Herrera
    Curamericas Global, Inc.